The morning after the night before…

I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to be able to post an update as I am right now.  My city’s done me proud – I always knew you would, and kept the faith even as I watched the horrible images from Wednesday night.  I told anyone who would listen that that’s not how Vancouver is.  And you didn’t disappoint.

Update The First

The wonders of social media have meant that while most of Europe was sleeping, Vancouverites were working hard to bring the rioters to justice.  The Vancouver Police department, reacting to comments and requests from the public, began asking for any photos or videos people might have taken of the riots.  They also requested that if people recognised anyone in any of the photos or videos, that they share that information with police.

Due to the feelings of disgust felt by most of Vancouver, this has had tremendous success so far.  Vancouver bloggers, like the “unapologetically inappropriate” Kimli, have worked hard to name and shame some of the worst offenders, and have encouraged others to do so as well.

It’s not just a matter of “vigilante justice”, as one commenter suggested.  It is a city refusing to let a group of mindless hooligans ruin its good name.  It is the majority of Vancouverites standing up for what’s right, and saying “not in my name”.

And to be honest with you… if you’re foolish enough to brag about setting fire to cars, smashing shop windows and flogging your looted goods all over Facebook, you deserve to be caught and ratted out.

Update The Second

I really have to stop my routine of waking up and checking the news.  This is the second day I’ve had tears in my eyes approximately 10 minutes after my alarm goes off.  But today there was an important difference.  Today was happy.  Today I was moved by the touching efforts of a group of people who came together to clean Vancouver up after the riots.  They wore their Canucks gear… as a silent demonstration of what being a real Canucks fan is all about.

Vancouver photographer Andy Fang was on the scene to take photos of the volunteers.  He called the project “The REAL Face of Vancouver”.  It wasn’t for publicity, or to make a name for himself, but because

I was so taken aback by the amount of positive spirit in the city today, it inspired me to put together this little project. I grabbed every volunteer I could see and took their portrait. Since seeing international coverage of the 2011 Stanley Cup Final riots, my goal was to showcase the REAL citizens of Vancouver in all their amazing gracefulness.

I hope he doesn’t mind me using his photos. They’re all copyright 2011 by Andy Fang.  Thank you for documenting an amazing day.

I’ve done my best to show the world that the events of Wednesday night were not the work of deranged hockey fans, and that the REAL hockey fans (myself included) were deeply saddened by what happened.

I want you to keep Andy Fang’s images in your mind when you think about what happened in Vancouver.  When the international media focusses on rioters and violence, think of the hundreds of people who came to the city centre, armed with bin bags and rubber gloves.  They worked hard to try and clean up the mess left behind, not only in the city centre, but of our reputation as one of the best cities on earth.

It’s a shame very few people outside Vancouver will ever see these images.  Because these people are the real Vancouverites.

 

 

Leave a comment